# **Faculty & Staff Meeting**

Meeting called by: Chandra Subramaniam, Interim Dean Attendees: Faculty & Staff Minutes Awards and Recognitions Chandra Subramaniam and Agenda item: **Presenter: Greg Frazier Discussion:** Awards presented to the outstanding faculty and staff of the year. See Attachment A for list of award recipients. Agenda item: **Promotions and Renewals Presenter: Greg Frazier Discussion:** The following faculty were awarded Tenure: • Ram Venkataraman (ACCT) Grace Hao (FINA) David Rakowski (FINA) • The following faculty were promoted to Full Professor: CY Choi (ECON) • Edmund Prater (INSY) . The following faculty received 3rd-year renewals: Raghu Venugopalan (ACCT) Sriram Villupuram (FINA) Agenda item: New Faculty **Presenter: Greg Frazier Discussion:** New Faculty for Fall 2017:

- Tenure-track
  - o Dr. David Rosser (ACCT)
  - o Dr. Alper Nakkas (ISOM)
  - Dr. Wayne Crawford (MANA)
- Non Tenure-track
  - o Dr. William Seeger (ECON)

2

**Discussion:** 

#### Agenda item: Library Updates

# **Discussion:**

Announced the opportunity for a grant of up to \$5,000 through Open Education Resources.

LexisNexis will get a new name and new interface summer 2017. The new name is NexisUni.

The following databases are being cancelled: WestLawNext Campus Research and IBIS World

Digital Identify and Impact Services:

- UTA Libraries Tell your Research Story http://libquides.uta.edu/story 0
- PlumX https://plu.mx/uta-business/g/ 0
- ORCiD (Open Researcher & Contributor Identified) https://orcid.org/ 0
- 30 Day Impact Challenge: The Ultimate Guide to raising the Profile of Your Research 0 http://blog.impactstory.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/impact challenege ebook links.pdf

Agenda item: **Faculty Elections** 

#### **Discussion:**

Graduate Assembly currently represented in by Drs. Prater (one year left), Skantz (2 years left), and Ann McFadyen (term expiring).

Nomination to elect Dr. Yasar was seconded. No other nominations. Dr. Yasar was elected the third delegate to the Graduate Assembly.

Hearing Panel – RC Baker and Doug Grisaffe elected two years ago. Dr. Grisaffe and Dr. Baker were reelected.

Undergraduate Assembly - need to elect 3 members. The following individuals expressed interest and are elegible: Jingguo Wang, Jennifer Zhang, and Grace Hao. Floor opened for nominations. All in favor to nominate the slate.

Rules and Elections – Dr. Cannon eligible for re-election and was nominated.

Departments are responsible for ensuring that they are represented at the Faculty Senate. Next year, one delegate needs to be elected to the Undergraduate Assembly and one delegate to the Committee on Committees. Terms for Ram Venkataraman and Ann McFadyen are expiring.

Agenda item: Commencement

Commencement will be Saturday, May 13 at 11:00 a.m. All tenured and tenure-track faculty required to attend.

Alan Cannon **Presenter:** 

**Presenter: Greg Frazier** 

**Presenter:** Ruthie Brock and Carol Byrne

#### Agenda item: SACS

#### **Discussion:**

Accreditation team visited the UTA campus on April 4-6, 2017, including Fort Worth, Dallas and foreign locations in China. All went well and the only issue of concern was the UEP's.

Follow-up required:

Academic programs need to complete their assessment results by July 14, 2017

Improvement reports needs to be completed by July 21, 2017

Specialty programs are faculty-driven processes. Faculty that are invited are urged to participate.

Departments asked to review UEP and make sure the assessments have been completed and come up with recommendations.

Agenda item: Updates

Presenter: Chandra Subramaniam

#### **Discussion**:

Good news regarding the rankings of the College:

- CEO Magazine: Tier 1-MBA and EMBA globally EMBA also ranked #21 globally and #18 in the U.S.
- US News and World Report: #122 overall (dropped from #82), and #72 public
- TopManagementDegrees.com: #5 out of 25 schools in Texas for best undergraduate BBA program (before UTA: UT Austin, Texas A&M and Texas Tech).
- TopManagementDegrees.com: #8 out of 25 schools in Texas for best MBA program

Business Week and Executive Dinner were both successful events. Had about 58 senior executives visit classes. Together with the Advisory Board, we are trying to double that number for next year.

Will be offering a BBA in Management (four classes), in Fort Worth Santa Fe Station (will be renamed UTA-Fort Worth).

Accounting, Information Systems & Operations Management, and Management departments are hiring new full-time faculty for 2017-18. There will be a search for 3 more positions due to faculty leaving or student growth.

The hiring of staff was approved for Sr. Director of Development (left vacant by Julie Gross at the beginning of April), Director of Brand Management (to be vacated by Julie Ngo at the end of June), and Administrative Assistant in the Management department (left vacant by Nancy Morrel at the end of March).

#### Agenda item: Online MBA

#### **Discussion:**

Received approval to start in October. Planned start date is August 21, 2017. Four courses are currently being developed by eight faculty members. Working with Center for Distance Education and Academic Partners.

Program of Work for Master of Business Administration was handed to all present. Discussion ensued. Comments made by Mark Eakin and Mary Whiteside. Dr. Gray asked for motion to approve degree courses from Advanced Courses down. Motion passed.

Faculty were asked to design courses in such a way that they are not the same as those being delivered to undergraduates.

Agenda item: Faculty Retirements and other departures **Presenter:** 

Greg Frazier

#### **Discussion:**

The following faculty will be retiring at the end of this academic year:

- James Eastham •
- Kathy Kelly
- Martin Taylor

The following faculty/staff members will also be leaving soon:

- Susanna Khavul •
- Marcus Butts •
- Feirong Yuan
- Gene Moo Lee
- Julie Ngo

Meeting adjourned.

Minutes taken by Martha Ambrosio

# Attachment A: List of Award and Recognitions

# **Teaching Awards**

Teaching Committee: Drs. Hall, Crowder, Sabherwal, Nerur, Khavul, Freling Outstanding Graduate Teaching Associate: **Ryan Terry** (MANA) Outstanding Adjunct Instructor: **Gary Dixon** (ACCT) Outstanding Lecturer: **Jeffrey Wallman** (MARK) Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching: **Qing Hao** (FINA) Outstanding Graduate Teaching: **David Gray** (MANA)

# **Research Awards**

Research Committee: Drs. Ward, Quick/Khavul, Sarkar, Chen, Skantz and Yang Distinguished Research Publication Award:

Stephanie Rasmussen- Contemporary Accounting Research, 2016

"When Do Ineffective Audit Committee Members Experience Turnover?"

Terry Skantz- Review of Accounting Studies, 2016

"The Quality of Pro Forma Earnings: An Examination of the Adverse Selection Component of the Bid-Ask Spread around Earnings Announcements"

Distinguished Professional Publication Award:

**Abdul Rasheed** – *Journal of Applied Corporate Finance*, 2016 "Seeking Capital Abroad: Motivations, Process, and Suggestions for Success"

Distinguished Clinical Faculty Publication Award:

Randy Napier - International Journal of Production Economics, 2016

S.A. Avery, V. Gopalakrishna-Remani, R. Mishra, & Randy Napier. "Examining the Impact of Design for Environment and the Mediating Effect of Quality Management Innovation on Firm Performance"

#### Distinguished PhD Student Publication Award:

Adel Yazdanmehr – Decision Support Systems, 2016

Adel Yazdanmehr & Jingguo Wang, "Employees' Information Security Policy Compliance: A Norm Activation Perspective"

Faculty Co-author: Dr. Jingguo Wang

## **Outstanding Staff Awards**

Outstanding Advisor: Philisa Stanford, Undergraduate Advising Outstand Staff: Kim VanArsdale, Support Specialist, ACCT

# **Outstanding Ph.D. Mentor**

Raj Agnihotri

# Lockheed Martin Community and Professional Faculty Leadership Award

Becky Neilson

## Beta Gamma Sigma Professor of the Year

Mahmut Yasar