#### GRADUATE ASSEMBLY NOVEMBER MEETING MINUTES THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT ARLINGTON

**DATE**: Thursday, November 1, 2018 **TIME**: 2:30 pm **PLACE**: San Saba, University Center

## PRESIDING: Diane Mitschke, Chair of the Graduate Assembly

**MEMBERS ATTENDING**: Seyedali Abolmaali; Ard Anjomani; Courtney Cronley; Bradley Davis; Lauri John; David Jorgensen; Jon Leffingwell; Subhrangsu Mandal; Patti Parker; Edmund Prater; Panos Shiakolas; Mark Tremayne; Mahmut Yasar; Bijan Youssefzadeh; Jared Kenworthy; Yvonne Audirac; Raymond Jackson. Duane Dimos

#### I. Call to Order

• The meeting of the Graduate Assembly was called to order at 2:35pm by chair, Dr. Diane Mitschke.

## II. Consideration of Minutes

• Minutes from October 4 were approved. 1 abstention.

## III. Duane Dimos, Dean of Graduate School, VP for Research

• Apology for missing last meeting. No update.

## IV. Jain Hemanshu Kumar, President of Graduate Student Senate

• He was not present. While emails have been sent, Diane Mitschke will reach out to him to determine the issue.

#### V. Old Business

• Dr Joe Jackson reported on the discussion of graduate faculty membership held at the last meeting. He and the previous GA President had understood the stated policy from last year had been voted and accepted. Thus they had passed it on the next level for the changes to be made in the HOP. At this time, it has been approved at several levels with only one change. Colleges and Departments have the option of appointing non-tenure track faculty to committees. The one exception is Teaching Faculty, because they are hired specifically for teaching large loads and will NOT be included for as full members of the Graduate Faculty since their focus is not research.

#### VI. New Business

A) Committee on Program Creation (Dr. Brad Davis). It was reported the Program on MS in Data Science was not voted on. Instead Engineering is being asked for clarification on how the program will run. This includes budgets and supporting letters from departments that will have to support the program with faculty and classes. The goal is to vote at the next meeting in February.

B) Committee on Program Revision (Dr. Mark Tremayne). It was reported that the committee feels that the School of Social Work should be granted 3 members in the GA instead of 2. At this time the HOP says that Schools can move from 2 to 3 members when they move above the average of weighted credit hours of the Colleges. At this point they fall just short at 87,000 (the average is 88,000). However, they have more hours than 5 of the 7 Colleges. There was discussion on the history of the labels of School vs College within UTA and in universities at large.

It was moved that the School of Social work be granted 3 members rather than 2. The motion passed unanimously.

It was moved that an ad-hoc committee (formed mainly from the Committee of Program Revision but open to anyone interested) be tasked with developing a proposal to change the HOP for baseline representation of Schools and Colleges, but that this be delayed until the spring. It passed unanimously.

# VII. Other Discussion

Joe Jackson brought up that Grad Classes normally graded with an R would now count towards credit begin taken but would not impact GPA. Currently it does not count as a course. However, since we need information to check the 99 hour rule for formula funding, credit hours are counted by hand. This change will not affect any faculty but will allow this information to be accurately calculated.

## X. Adjournment

• Meeting was adjourned at 3:04pm.

Respectfully submitted, Edmund Prater, PhD Chair-Pro tem filling in for the Secretary, Graduate Assembly 11/1/2018