Elwood Preiss Distinguished Retiree Service Award

At a special executive officers meeting held in August 2007, a proposal was made for the development and formation of an award that would recognize UT Arlington Retirees who have made significant and valuable contributions to the university and the Arlington community.  The inaugural reward would be named the "UT Arlington Distinguished Retiree Service Award", with subsequent awards to be named "Elwood Preiss Distinguished Retiree Service Award".

Current Recipients

Elwood Preiss - 2007

Joe Spradlin - 2008

Thurman Jasper - 2009

Josie O'Quinn - 2012

Wanda Slinkard - 2013

Frank Gault - 2014

Larry Barcroft - 2015

Dianne Chance - 2016

Shirley Theriot - 2019


This award recognizes UT Arlington retired individuals who embody outstanding service in any or all of the following areas.

  • Community service and involvement
  • University service and involvement
  • Retiree Club service and involvement
  • Enrichment and enhancement of university and club image


Nominees must be a UT Arlington retiree.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations for the award are to be made to the UT Arlington Retiree Club president.  Members of the UT Arlington community, Retiree Club members or officers may submit these nominations.

Award Selection

Nominations must be submitted no later than August 31 of each year.

For more information on becoming a member of the Retiree Club:

E-mail retireesclub@uta.edu